New Hampshire SR22 Insurance Quotes & SR22 Information
In New Hampshire there is a minimum period of three (3) years to file and manage an SR22 insurance policy when a driver is convicted of certain crimes, for example DWI. If a driver is convicted of a 2nd Driving While Intoxicated offense then that period may be increased to 5 years from the date of conviction.
Additionally if a driver is currently managing an SR22 insurance policy and that driver is convicted of a major offense that requires SR22 insurance for that crime; the SR22 insurance policy currently being managed will, according to NH.gov, be extended three (3) years from the date of the new offense.
Offenses, if convicted, that may require a driver to get SR22 insurance and/or offenses that may extend a driver's SR22 policy period are:
- DWI (Driving While Intoxicated)
- Insufficient or lack of proof of insurance
Please keep in mind that numerous small offenses could add up to a major offense, which could extend an SR22 insurance policy period for an additional 3 years. A word of caution is that the term "minimum" could be 3 or 5 years depending on a driver's past vehicle history and what the new offense is.
Always check with your Local DMV or a New Hampshire DWI/DUI Attorney for any additional information and your legal rights, respectively.
How do I request a New Hampshire administrative hearing?
Usually you have a certain time period (about 10 days or less) to request an administration hearing, however some offenses have a request time period of up to 30 days.
It is highly recommended that you contact the Bureau of Hearings immediately to find out what is needed of you to complete this request and the location of the hearing as well.
Phone: (603) 271-3486
Online Administrative Hearing Request Form
How do I get my license reinstated in New Hampshire?
If your license has not been suspended or revoked (cancelled) you should be able to renew your license online.
If your license has been suspended or revoked (cancelled) you will need to contact the Bureau of Driver Licensing at:
Department of Safety
Division of Motor Vehicles
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH. 03305
NOTE: If you are applying for a New Hampshire drivers license and have a suspended or revoked (cancelled) license from another state you will need to contact the Bureau of Driver Licensing as well.
Does New Hampshire have any driver improvement classes that I may attend?
Yes, New Hampshire has many driver improvement courses located throughout the state, but only authorizes a few vendors that, upon successful completion, will actually reduce points on your driving record.
Please visit the financial responsibility web page to see these vendors and their contact info.
What are New Hampshire's minimum liability requirements?
- $25,000 coverage for bodily injury or death of any person per accident
- $50,000 coverage for all persons in any one (1) accident
- $25,000 coverage for property damage per accident.
What if I fail to keep my New Hampshire SR22 insurance policy current?
Failing to keep your SR22 insurance policy current could bring more charges and penalties against you. These additional crimes may be treated as separate offenses in the eyes of the court.
For instance, by law insurance companies are required to notify the DMV when a lapse in coverage has occurred. This prompts the DMV to suspend that driver's license and notify them that a suspension has happened. Additionally this suspension could put a driver in a situation of not operating a motor vehicle with a license or proper insurance, as these notifications usually are sent by mail.
Possible fees, charges, and penalties resulting from this situation could be:
- Having to pay another license reinstatement fee and other associated fees
- Paying for driving school
- Going to court for driving on a suspended license and/or failure to show proof of valid insurance
- An extension of your SR22 insurance period
What can I do to avoid a lapse in my New Hampshire SR22 insurance coverage?
The simplest way is to pay your policy premium as early as you can. We recommend 2 months, however this time frame is entirely up to you. Just don't be late.